A password-protected directory or area is a folder that can be accessed only when a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people may check out its content. This feature may be used for the primary folder of a given website or just for a certain subfolder based upon the needs you have. As an example, when you are developing a new site and you do not want people to see it before it is 100% ready, you may want to limit the access to it altogether, while if you would like only some people to be able to access certain files, you may password-protect only a certain folder, while the rest of the Internet site may be seen by anybody. In either case, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear when the login details the visitor inputs aren't right. Even a direct link to a file won't work given that any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Website Hosting
With the password protection tool supplied with each and every website hosting package deal that we offer, you will be able to protect any content which you have in your account with just a few mouse clicks. As the tool is a component of our revolutionary Hepsia CP, it features the same simple interface and you will not need any special skills to use it. Once you check out the Password Protection section, you'll need to select one of the domains or subdomains you have inside the account and then decide whether the protection should be active for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then type the username and the password you want and you will be set. A tiny padlock icon in the File Manager section will tell you that a certain folder is password-protected. In the same exact way you shall be able to include numerous usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.